Why are there different types of advocate?

There are some pieces of law which say that in certain circumstances, people are entitled to have advocacy support.  The different types of advocate are:

  1. Community/General Advocate (not in law)
  2. NHS Complaints Advocate
  3. Independent Mental Capacity Advocate (IMCA)
  4. Independent Mental Health Advocate (IMHA)
  5. Care Act Advocate

Every different type of advocate has the same purpose – to help people have their views heard and be at the centre of decisions made about them.

It can be confusing for people to understand which type of advocate is needed for which situation. If you are not sure, please get in touch and we will try and help.

Where we can, we try and make sure our advocates are trained to deliver the different types of advocacy, so a person can be supported by the same advocate, even if their situation changes.